What's New in Ohio

Work days were held at Tri Valley WLA. . Boards on the Corrals were replaced.  We
also helped layout and mow trial grounds in Aug. Work days are planned for 2016 in
the spring to repair corrals and kennels and a workday with our Dog of the Year
Picnic in June. In August we will again this year assist with mowing the area and
preparing for the fall trial season.
Who Are We
The ABDCO is comprised of licensed AKC and American Field trial and Hunt Test  
giving Clubs. We work with the State to schedule Field Trials and Hunt Tests on
state wildlife areas and on private grounds.  We  promote hunting  with dogs and
wildlife conservation. We serve as a voice for the Ohio sportsman to ODWL
Ohio Dog of the Year  awards are given to outstanding dogs that compete in
American Field Pointing  Breed Trials, AKC Pointing Breed Trials, AKC
Retreiver Trials and Hunt Tests.
Membership is open to any dog club or organization that hold field trials, hunt tests
or other competitive hunting dog event in the state of Ohio. Priority Dates are drawn
twice a year to use the state wildlife areas. Members of the ABDCO draw the dates
at the state priority meeting  and resolve any conflicts as to who receives the dates
available. We also schedule dates on private grounds to help avoid conflicting
events within the group.
Field Trials go hand in hand with hunting. Proven breeding stock produce
outstanding hunting companions.  Trials give the hunter additional opportunities to
enjoy their sport and their dogs. A schedule of Field Trials and Hunt Test held in
Ohio is posted on this website calendar.
Associated Bird Dog Clubs of Ohio
ABDCO  - Associated Bird Dog Clubs of Ohio Inc.
Associated Bird Dog Clubs of Ohio Inc
2015 Ohio Dog of the Year
Presented at DOY Picnic June 2016

Ohio Tournament Hunters

Open Pointing
Winner Apollo   
Owner Eddie Karban
Runner Up Darby
Owner Scott Reber

Amateur Pointing
Winner Apollo
Owner Eddie Karban
Runner up  Chap
Owner Jeremiah Mohr

Open Flushing
Winner Thor
Owner Eddie Karban
Runner up Midas
Eddie Karban

Double Flushing
Winner Joules
Owner Dave White
Runner up Drake
Dan Steingraber

American Field

All Age
Winner   Cole Train
Owner Fred Corder
Runner up  Dunn’s Tried ‘N True
Owners Will & Rita Dunn

Shooting Dog
Winner Raggs Miss Lightfoot
Owner Ray Wheeler
Runner up   Palara
Owner Sal Morelli

Winner Dunn’s Break Time
Owner John May
Runner up Whippoorwill Time Line
Owner Earl Connolly

American Field Amateur Hander
Winner Ray Wheeler
Runner up Bill Brown

American Kennel Club

All Age
Winner   JJ Levi The Lion Hearted
Owner Joe Williams & Jenny Ro

Winner Mythodical’s Goddess of the Hunt
Owner Cassie Allen
Runner up Linden’s Sly as a Fox
Owner Denny & Linda Keeton

Overall Gun Dog
Winner Hickory Acres Button Hook
Owner Scott Weslow
Runner up Highwinds Edge Effect
Owner Susan Borocz

Amateur Gun Dog
Winner  Smithwick’s Hard Licker
Owner Megan Smith
Runner up  Hickory Acres Button Hook
Owner Scott Weslow

Open Gun Dog
Winner Woodland Trail Rockin Robin
Owner Robert Reynolds
Runner up  Hickory Acres Button Hook
Owner Scott Weslow